The trends of the Restoration Special 2016

As the year draws to a close, we see flourishing everywhere trends forecast that will boost our sector in 2016 … Bento has gone on the hunt to pick you the most inspiring, most relevant and most disconcerting With the best pythias on the planet: a very useful exercise because our activities are always in permanent reinvention.

Restoration delivered, vegetable consecrated and compressed, fast food “refreshed”, tastes very “hot”, potions magic … not to lose, it is necessary to keep informed! As always, we will help you and remain at your disposal to comment, specify and complete these insights at your convenience.

Trends from San Francisco

Andrew Freeman, who is himself the leader of trend-setting boutique firms in the United States, is interested in his Californian prism.

For him 2016 will be green with the decidedly irresistible rise of the vegetable, which had already surprised more than one in 2015 in version trim as delicious as creative. In 2016 it should be seen more and more often in the center of the plate, sought after by vegetarians, vegan and other gluten free; Both at the table and in tapas format in the bar or even in vegetarian sandwich. The top of the list will be the cucumber, which is preparing to make its big entry on our plates in sometimes unpublished version as at Mission Chinese Food (San Francisco & New York) where chef David Bowien crushes it to get the maximum Of flavor … The compression of the cucumber or root vegetables is essential to the passage as the culinary technique that progresses. 2016 serachaud, as already 2015 which had seen the confirmation of the phenomenon Sriracha, this Thai sauce red & ultra-pungent.

Chili oil, spicy maple syrup should take the following and continue to set the most traditional preparations, including desserts. The burger is always present but it is its mini version, the “slider” that should move the lines … In bite format it takes its place almost everywhere between pre-dinner snacks, starters to share or main course, reinvented by Leaders who thus find the means to sacrifice to the cult of comfort food without losing -too their soul …. To stay in finger food, empanadas, samosas, ravioli are available, combining culinary tradition with casual consumption, while the lobster roll – the famous lobster sandwich – is a new standard even in restaurants The most sophisticated … The service on a dim sum trolley as popularized by State Bird Provisions is developing: it creates experience at the table, gives entertainment or choice, and therefore plays traditionally on cheeses but Also on a preparation of salad, a cutting of ham …

The insight bento: A year 2016 that promises to be creative but thought, with a reasoned innovation that works in finesse to add only what is needed novelty to best sellers that have proved their worth. Special mention to the protein-free which is beginning to take an important place on the cards and the offers, boosted by the creativity of chefs who know how to exploit the full potential …

Trends from Chicago with Technomic

One of the reference firms on our profession in the United States gives us its vision of 2016, which will also be spicy because the famous sauce Sriracha should be relayed by the Sambal of South East Asia, the gochujang of Korea, the harissa and the Sumac from North Africa. It should turn out to be rather rural with the continuation of the craze for the poor’s dishes like sausages and dumplings, more or less reinvented & ennobled according to the positioning of the establishments. The rise in material costs should favor the use of less noble proteins such as meat or fish meat … Technomic also sees one of the reasons for the development of vegetarian offers, a decided trend for the coming year. Le Brûlé, which we had already experienced in 2015, consumes all the menus between grilled and roasted vegetables, roasted fruit or toppings of sugar burnt to dessert, and always in cocktail with salts, ice or smoked syrups …

The Bubbles are always in the air of time between Champagne and Prosecco, sparkling appetizers, adult drink soaps, effervescent teas, artisan sodas.

The non-GMO is undeniably progressing with the announcement of the banning of all GMO ingredients by Chipotle this summer. We could note the appearance of a new segment of the market: fast food refreshed which links fast food and fast casual with chains like Chick-Fil-A which confirms its excellent performances and seems to fill a gap between The very functional meal of the traditional signs and the sometimes very sophisticated – and onerous – proposals of the fast casual. Care for ingredients & manufacturing, more attentive service, customization possibilities around ultra-readable ranges & very simple decorations could draw a new recipe for success for our fast food heckled by Generation Y.

The revolution in 2016 will come from the restoration delivered: the multiplication of dedicated actors, apps with pre-payment, initiatives of the restaurateurs themselves, the arrival of Amazon or Ubereats make ever easier home consumption , And push to revisit the customer experience to revalorize the service and the show that remain 2 major reasons to come …

Insight bento: Real tracks of reflection. The restoration delivered undeniably arrived in France and recorded a high rate of growth, showing whether it was necessary that our French consumers are well-loved with solutions that facilitate their life. The emergence of an alternative fast food that revisits traditional offers without reaching the average fast casual tickets also signals real opportunities …

 

Trends from New York with  BAUM+WHITEMAN

Baum + Whiteman, a specialist restoration architect, reveals to us every year its harvest of predictions, often pertinent … The delivery reviewed and corrected by the tycoons of the web like Amazon or Google – and we can still mention Grubhub, Yelp, Postmates …- seems to them one of the most striking facts of the time, with the risk in the long term to see the restorers totally dispossessed of their marketing since the selection of establishments and dishes will be dematerialized and will escape operators …

In the meantime, “Clean Eating” will probably become even more popular: The chains declare the use of artificial, chemical and harmful additives and preservatives for health. The movement mainly affects fast food and fast casual but should extend to catering at the table. Baum + Whiteman salutes the coronation of the vegetable, but warns about the turbulence that pasta is currently experiencing. In the past five years, consumption has declined by 8% in Australia, 13% in Europe and even 25% in Italy (!). In the United States there is a drop of only 6% which could be explained by the enthusiasm for gluten free or false pasta: the vegetable – again it! – disguised as paste …

You will be charmed to learn that the next trendy destination is Hawaii & its emblematic dish the Poke, the local version of ceviche / sashimi / or other crudo. The fish – most often tuna ahi-ahi, but the recipe is declined with salmon, saint jacques … – is cut into cubes, marinated in a preparation that can combine soy sauce, macadamia nuts, green onion, avocado, mango , Sesame oil, ginger, all kinds of chilies and various Japanese spices … & placed on a bed of rice. The Pokerias are currently blooming on the west coast of the United States. Another culinary tradition in vogue: the New Jewish Cuisine, a revisit by the chefs of Eastern European dishes in light and twisted format to awaken more mainstream preparations.

The acai – or tree of life for the Brazilians – is imposed as the super food 2016: reduced to pulp and added soy milk, bananas and a little chia seeds for crunch is the Breakfast of the year … And it will be necessary to compensate for the other madness that arrives: the fried chicken sandwich, that the most trendy operators strive to reinvent from Shake Shack to Momofuku by way of Bird & Bubbles. And to finish the snacking that continues to impact the market. Appanage of the Millenials, but also of previous generations, it grew 47% from 2010 to 2014 and re-draws in depth the geography of the meals as we were able to know it …

The insight bento: A market with complex reality that as we multiplies the paradoxes … and the opportunities between health assumed but playful, new horizons gourmands but studied and reinvented, and it-products markers trend but also expertise. It’s up to you to choose your story …

Closer Trends: what’s up in the UK?

A little trip over Channel to see what we concoct our neighbors british for this vintage 2016. Seen by Technomic, it will give:

1- The continuation of the fast casual revolution with the massive arrival of American brands. After Chipotle & Five Guys – whose growth in the UK is according to its director of operations “insane” with 30 restaurants already open and 30 to come and record sales – London is preparing to cash the landing of Smashburger.

2- The Grand Menu Mash Up: Hybriding of Middle Eastern, Latin American or South East Asian cuisines that bring new ingredients or preparation techniques to good old European standards should be a major source of innovation for 2016 It could give me Mexican tacos garnished with Indian (see Wrapchic on the blog) or Asian ravioli stuffed with cheddar …

3- The vegetables in the center of the plate as in the American big brother, which will surprise no one so much vegetarian consumption has imposed on the island. There are about 10% of vegetarians, which is one of the highest rates in the world. So come, really fatty salads – and bad weather friendly – and preparations centered on the vegetable where the protein plays only a secondary role.

4- The revisiting of the traditional formats of catering to follow the increasingly violent rhythm of life of city dwellers with the development of bars offers to prolong the possibilities of reception in the evening and the development of proposals to take always sexier and ergonomic to Multiply the consumption patterns.

5- A liquid range more identical and audacious to meet the expectations of complexity of consumers. Tastes more assertive, rising of the bitters with the bitters home made, declinations around the coffee … It is a whole aromatic rebirth that greet the new cards bar. Place to a bold regained!

Concours Concepts, Horizons focuses on the family of “craft” cafes, the third generation of the coffee shop format, which plays coffee of noble extraction and a “health conscious” food offer for urban people who are less and less Concepts too popular. The second family that believes is that of the Mexican, of which we see indeed the implantations multiply as well in the city center as in shopping mall or hub transport with exotic but functional proposals, customizable and prepared to order.

Insight bento: An interesting look that identifies trends that are closest to our hexagonal situation. If the mash up can make you smile – but beware the world is always changing faster – the opportunities of the new fast casual, vegetable, card bar and even Mexican cuisine are already here …

Les tendances de la restauration Spécial 2016

Alors que la fin de l’année s’approche, on voit fleurir partout les prévisions sur les tendances qui vont dynamiser notre secteur en 2016… Bento est parti en chasse pour vous sélectionner les plus inspirantes, les plus pertinentes et les plus déconcertantes auprès des meilleures pythies de la planète: un exercice bien utile car nos activités sont toujours en réinvention permanente.

Restauration livrée, légume consacré et comprimé, fast food « refreshed », goûts bien « hot », breuvages magiques… pour ne pas décrocher, il faut se maintenir informé ! Comme toujours, nous vous y aidons et restons à votre disposition pour commenter, préciser et compléter ces insights à votre convenance.

Les tendances from San Francisco

 

Le concombre star au très recherché Mission Chinese Food

Le concombre star au très recherché Mission Chinese Food

Andrew Freeman qui s’appelle lui même le leader des cabinets de tendance « boutique » aux Etats Unis nous intéresse par son prisme carrément californien.

Pour lui 2016 sera bien vert avec la montée décidément irrésistible du légume, qui en avait déjà surpris plus d’un en 2015 en version garniture aussi délicieuse que créative. En 2016 on devrait le voir de plus en plus souvent au centre de l’assiette, recherché qu’il est par les végétariens, vegan et autres gluten free; aussi bien à table qu’en format tapas au bar ou même en sandwich végétarien. Le top du top ce sera le concombre, qui s’apprête à faire sa grande entrée sur nos assiettes en version parfois inédite comme chez Mission Chinese Food (San Francisco & New York) où le chef David Bowien l’écrase pour en tirer le maximum de saveur… La compression du concombre ou des légumes racines s’impose au passage comme la technique culinaire qui progresse. 2016 serachaud, comme déjà 2015 qui avait vu la confirmation du phénomène Sriracha, cette sauce thaïlandaise rouge & ultra-piquante.

L’huile de chili, le sirop d’érable épicé devraient prendre la suite et continuer à mettre le feuaux préparations les plus traditionnelles, y compris les desserts. Le burger est toujours présent mais c’est sa version mini, le « slider » qui devrait faire bouger les lignes… En format bouchée il prend sa place un peu partout entre snacks pré-dîner, entrées à partager ou plat principal, réinventé par des chefs qui trouvent ainsi le moyen de sacrifier au culte de la comfort food sans y perdre -trop- leur âme…. Pour rester dans la finger food, les empanadas, samosas, raviolis se déclinent à l’envi, alliant tradition culinaire et consommation décontractée, tandis que le lobster roll -le fameux sandwich au homard- s’impose comme un nouveau standard même dans les restaurants les plus sophistiqués… Le service sur chariot façon dim sum tel qu’il a été popularisé par State Bird Provisions se développe: il crée de l’expérience à table, donne du spectacle ou du choix, et se joue donc classiquement sur les fromages mais aussi sur une préparation de salade, une découpe de jambon…

L’insight bento: Une année 2016 qui s’annonce donc créative mais pensée, avec une innovation raisonnée qui se travaille en finesse pour n’ajouter que ce qu’il faut de nouveauté à des best sellers qui ont fait leur preuve. Mention spéciale au protéine-free qui commence à prendre une place importante sur les cartes et sur les offres, dopé par la créativité de chefs qui savent en exploiter tout le potentiel…

Les tendances from Chicago avec Technomic

La chaîne Chick-Fil-A pourrait ouvrir un nouveau segment pour la restauration rapide...

La chaîne Chick-Fil-A pourrait ouvrir un nouveau segment pour la restauration rapide…

Un des cabinets de référence sur notre métier aux Etats Unis nous livre sa vision de 2016, qui sera elle aussi spicy car la fameuse sauce Sriracha devrait être relayée par le Sambal d’Asie du Sud Est, le gochujang de Corée, la harissa et le sumac d’Afrique du Nord. Elle devrait se révéler plutôtpaysanne avec la poursuite de l’engouement pour les plats du pauvre comme les saucisses et boulettes, plus ou moins réinventées & anoblies selon le positionnement des établissements. La montée des coûts matière devrait favoriser la mise en oeuvre de protéines moins nobles comme les bas morceaux de la viande ou du poisson… Technomic y voit également une des raisons du développement des offres végétariennes, une tendance décidément présente pour l’année qui vient. Le Brûlé, que nous avions déjà bien expérimenté en 2015, consume tous les menus entre légumes grillés et rôtis, fruits rôtis ou toppings de sucre brûlé au dessert, et toujours en cocktail avec des sels, de la glace ou des sirops fumés…

Les Bulles sont toujours bien dans l’air du temps entre Champagne et Prosecco, apéritifs pétillants, softs drinks pour adultes, thés effervescents, sodas artisanaux.

Le non OGM progresse indéniablement avec l’annonce du bannissement de tous les ingrédients OGM par Chipotle cet été. On pourrait noter l’apparition d’un nouveau segment de marché: le fast food refreshed qui fait la liaison entre fast food et fast casual avec des chaînes comme Chick-Fil-A qui confirme ses excellentes performances et semble en effet combler un vide entre le repas très fonctionnel des enseignes traditionnelles et les propositions parfois très sophistiquées -et onéreuses- du fast casual. Soin apporté aux ingrédients & à la fabrication, service plus attentif, possibilités de personnalisation autour de gammes ultra-lisibles & de décors très simples pourraient dessiner une nouvelle recette à succès pour notre restauration rapide chahutée par la Génération Y.

La révolution en 2016 viendra de la restauration livrée: la multiplication des acteurs dédiés, des applis avec pré-paiement, des initiatives des restaurateurs eux-même, l’arrivée d’Amazon ou d’Ubereats rendent toujours plus facile la consommation à la maison, et poussent à une revisite de l’expérience client pour revaloriser le service et le spectacle qui restent 2 raisons majeures de venir…

L’insight bento: De vraies pistes de réflexion. La restauration livrée est indéniablement arrivée en France et enregistre un fort taux de croissance, montrant s’il en était besoin que nos consommateurs hexagonaux sont bien épris de solutions qui leur facilitent la vie. L’émergence d’un fast food alternatif qui revisite les offres traditionnelles sans atteindre les tickets moyens du fast casual signale également de vraies opportunités…

Les tendances New Yorkaises par BAUM+WHITEMAN

Liho Liho Yacht Club célèbre Hawaï à San Francisco

Liho Liho Yacht Club célèbre Hawaï à San Francisco

Cabinet d’architecture spécialisé sur la restauration, Baum+Whiteman nous révèle comme chaque année sa moisson de prédictions, souvent pertinentes…  La livraison revue et corrigée par les magnats du web comme Amazon ou Google – et on peut encore citer Grubhub, Yelp, Postmates...- leur parait un des faits les plus marquants du moment, avec le risque à terme de voir les restaurateurs totalement dépossédés de leur marketing puisque la sélection des établissements et des plats sera dématérialisée et échappera aux opérateurs…

D’ici là le « Clean Eating » sera probablement devenu encore plus populaire: Les chaînes déclarent les unes après les autres renoncer aux additifs et conservateurs artificiels, chimiques et néfastes pour la santé. Le mouvement touche principalement la restauration rapide et le fast casual mais devrait s’étendre à la restauration à table. Baum+Whiteman salue comme les autres le sacre du légume mais alerte sur les turbulences que rencontrent actuellement les pâtes. Ces 5 dernières années, leur consommation aurait régressé de 8% en Australie, 13% en Europe & même 25% en Italie (!). Aux Etats Unis on enregistre une baisse de 6% seulement qui s’expliquerait par l’engouement pour le gluten free ou les fausses pâtes: le légume -encore lui!- déguisé en pâte…

Vous serez charmé d’apprendre que la prochaine destination trendy c’est Hawaï & son plat emblématique le Poke, la version locale du ceviche / sashimi / ou autre crudo. Le poisson -le plus souvent du thon ahi-ahi, mais la recette se décline avec saumon, saint jacques…- est découpé en cubes, mariné dans une préparation qui peut allier sauce de soja, noix de macadamia, oignon vert, avocat, mangue, huile de sésame, gingembre, piments de tous ordres et épices japonaises variées… & déposé sur un lit de riz. Les Pokeriasfleurissent actuellement sur la côte Ouest des Etats Unis. Autre tradition culinaire en vogue: la « New Jewish Cuisine » c’est à dire une revisite par les chefs des plats originaires de l’Europe de l’Est en format allégé et twisté pour réveiller des préparations plus mainstream.

L’acai -ou arbre de la vie pour les brésiliens– s’impose comme la super food 2016: réduit en pulpe et additionné de lait de soja, bananes et d’un peu de graines de chia pour le croquant, c’est le petit déjeuner de l’année… Et il faudra bien ça pour compenser l’autre folie qui arrive: le sandwich au poulet frit, que les opérateurs les plus branchés s’évertuent à réinventer de Shake Shack à Momofuku en passant par Bird & Bubbles. Et pour finir le snacking qui n’en finit pas d’impacter le marché. Apanage des Millenials,mais aussi des générations précédentes, il a cru de 47% de 2010 à 2014 et re-dessine en profondeur la géographie des repas comme nous avons pu la connaître…

L’insight bento: Un marché à la réalité complexe qui comme nous multiplie les paradoxes… et les opportunités entre santé assumée mais ludique, nouveaux horizons gourmands mais étudiés et réinventés, et it-produits marqueurs de tendance mais aussi d’expertise. A vous de choisir votre histoire…

Tendances plus proches : What’s up au Royaume Uni ?

Ziferblat revisite le coffee shop à Londres...

Ziferblat revisite le coffee shop à Londres…

Un petit tour outre Manche pour voir ce que nous concoctent nos voisins british pour ce cru 2016. Vu par Technomic, ca va donner :

1- La poursuite de la révolution fast casual avec l’arrivée massive des marques américaines. Après Chipotle & Five Guys – dont la croissance au Royaume Uni est selon son directeur des opérations « insane » avec 30 restaurants déjà ouverts et 30 à venir et des records de chiffre d’affaires- Londres s’apprête à encaisser le débarquement de Smashburger.

2- Le grand Menu Mash Up: l’hybridation des cuisines moyen orientale, latino-américaine ou d’Asie du Sud Est qui apportent de nouveau ingrédients ou techniques de préparations aux bon vieux standards européens devrait être une source majeure d’innovation pour 2016. Ca pourrait donner des tacos mexicains garnis à l’indienne (voir Wrapchic sur le blog) ou des raviolis asiatiques fourrés au cheddar…

3- Les légumes au centre de l’assiette comme chez le grand frère américain, ce qui ne surprendra personne tant la consommation végétarienne s’est imposée sur l’ile. On y compte environ 10% de végétariens, ce qui représente un des taux d’adeptes les plus élevés dans le monde. A venir donc, des salades vraiment rassasiantes -et bad weather friendly- et des préparations centrées sur le légume où la protéine ne joue plus qu’un rôle secondaire.

4- La revisite des formats traditionnels de restauration pour épouser le rythme de vie toujours plus violent des citadins avec le développement des offres bars pour prolonger les possibilités d’accueil le soir et la mise au point de propositions à emporter toujours plus sexy et ergonomiques pour multiplier les modalités de consommation.

5- Une gamme liquide plus identitaire et audacieuse pour répondre aux attentes de complexité des consommateurs. Goûts plus affirmés, montée des amers avec les bitters home made, déclinaisons autour du café… C’est toute une renaissance aromatique que saluent les nouvelles cartes bar. Place à une audace retrouvée !

 

Côté Concepts, le cabinet Horizons mise sur la famille des cafés « artisans« , la troisième génération du format coffee shop qui joue le café de noble extraction et une offre alimentaire « health conscious » pour des urbains de moins en moins à leur affaire avec des concepts trop populaires. La deuxième famille qui croit est celle du mexicain, dont on voit en effet les implantations se multiplier aussi bien en centre ville qu’en centre commercial ou hub de transport avec des propositions exotiques mais fonctionnelles, customisables et préparées à la commande.

L’insight bento: Un coup d’oeil intéressant qui permet d’identifier les tendances qui se rapprochent le plus de notre situation hexagonale. Si le mash up peut faire sourire -mais attention le monde change toujours plus vite- les opportunités du nouveau fast casual, du légume, de la carte bar et même de la cuisine mexicaine sont déjà ici…