Trend changes customer: some US data to reflect

Lots of data collected this summer by the FMI: the Food Marketing Institute which teaches us that the Americans
1- Always more alone: the number of single-person households has tripled since the 1960s and reached 34 million adults. 46% of food consumption opportunities are solo, with a clear impact on the design, purchase and presentation of foods
2- Living more and more between adults: the number of households with 2 generations of adults (parents + grandparents, parents + adult children has doubled since the 1980s.

3- Are of increasingly diverse origins. In the 1960s, 75% of Americans came from Europe, then from Canada, 10% from Latin America, 9% and Asia from 5%. Today, Europe represents only 12% of its origins, compared with 53% for Latin America and 28% for Asia. Welcome Ethnic Food!
4- Put the men in the kitchen. Women now account for 47% of the workforce, compared with 38% in 1970. Males are thus increasingly involved in shopping and meal preparation. 42% cook and 73% ensure more than 50% of shopping for the house. The death knell of the housewife seems to have sounded. How to talk to these new targets?
5- Are more allergic. 12% of households include a person with an allergy or sensitivity to certain foods, medically detected or not.
6- Are less faithful. In 2011, only 2% of consumers said they had no shop for their purchases. In 2015 this figure rose to 9%.
7- Are more Millenials -or Generation Y born between 1980 & 2000- and therefore consume differently. 12% of Millenials bought their food on line the last 30 days against 5% of Baby Boomers born in the years 45 to 60. The Millenials jump more easily breakfast and eat more vegetarian.
8- Snack all the time. Snacking now accounts for 50% of consumer spending. 90% of Americans snack several times a day, and 48% replace their meals with snacks 3 to 4 times a week. 61% are looking for more balanced snacks.
9- Favor simplicity: few ingredients in the composition, known ingredients, locally produced foods, little or no processed products …
10- Are becoming more vegetarian. 7% of households contain vegetarian or vegan individuals.

The insight bento: the world changes and the consumers too … More ethnic diversity, more monofoyers, the man who is increasingly involved in the food industry, snacking up as a new art of eating, New generations who arrive with specific expectations, the cult of simple and soon vegetarian … So much data to integrate to prepare tomorrow …

Tendance le client change : quelques données américaines pour réfléchir

Une moisson de données récoltée cette été par le FMI: le Food Marketing Institute qui nous apprend que les américains
1- Sont toujours plus seuls: le nombre de ménages monopersonnes a triplé depuis les années 60 et atteint 34 millions d’adultes. 46% des occasions de consommation alimentaires se font donc en solo, avec un impact clair sur la conception, l’achat et la présentation des denrées
2- Vivent de plus en plus entre adultes: le nombre de foyers abritant 2 générations d’adultes (parents + grands parents, parents + enfants adultes a doublé depuis les années 80.

3- Sont d’origines de plus en plus diverses. Dans les années 60, 75% des américains étaient originaires d’Europe, puis du Canada pour 10% d’Amérique Latine pour 9% et d’Asie pour 5%. Aujourd’hui l’Europe ne représente plus que 12% des origines contre 53% pour l’Amérique Latine et 28% pour l’Asie. Welcome Ethnic Food !
4- Mettent les hommes en cuisine. Les femmes représentent désormais 47% de la population au travail contre 38% en 1970. Les mâles assument donc un rôle croissant quant au shopping et la préparation des repas. 42% d’entre eux cuisinent et 73% assurent réaliser plus de 50% du shopping pour la maison. Le glas du règne de la ménagère semble avoir sonné. Comment parler à ces nouvelles cibles?
5- Sont plus allergiques. 12% des foyers comprennent une personne souffrant d’une allergie ou d’une sensibilité à certains aliments, médicalement détectée ou non.
6- Sont moins fidèles. En 2011 seulement 2% des consommateurs déclaraient n’avoir aucun magasin de prédilection pour leurs achats. En 2015 ce chiffre a grimpé à 9%.
7- Sont plus Millenials -ou Génération Y nés entre 1980 & 2000- et consomment donc différemment. 12% des Millenials ont acheté leurs denrées alimentaires on line les 30 derniers jours contre 5% des Baby Boomers-nés dans les années 45 à 60. Les Millenials sautent plus facilement le petit déjeuner et mangent plus végétarien.
8- Snackent tout le temps. Le snacking représente désormais 50% des occasions de consommation. 90% des américains snackent plusieurs fois par jour, et 48% remplacent leurs repas par des snacks 3 à 4 fois par semaine. 61% cherchent donc des snacks plus équilibrés.
9- Privilégient la simplicité: peu d’ingrédients dans la composition, des ingrédients connus, des aliments produits localement, des produits peu ou moins transformés…
10- Sont de plus en plus végétariens. 7% des foyers contiennent des individus végétariens ou végétaliens.

L’insight bento: le monde change et les consommateurs aussi… Plus de diversité ethnique, plus de monofoyers, l’homme qui s’implique de plus en plus dans le domaine alimentaire, le snacking érigé en nouvel art de s’alimenter, les nouvelles générations qui arrivent avec des attentes spécifiques, le culte du simple et bientôt du végétarien… Autant de données à intégrer pour préparer demain…