Végécentric: 2016, year of the vegetable?

2016 could be the year of the vegetable and it is in any case well left if one believes the American tenders who cite all this old bad loved as the new star of the year, version more and more cooked to To exalt all the flavors and possibilities …

In New York, the vegetable is revisited by Amanda Cohen, the famous chef of the Dirt Candy restaurant with its two best known specialties: its spiced or beetroot flavored pot loaves or its iconoclastic version of the tacos (pictured) Garnish, rather than a corn cake, crisp green salad leaves with braised Brussels sprouts, a host of tasty and gourmet preparations. Pretty, light, customizable, fresh, colorful … Who says better?

The vegetarian addresses are multiplying and allow the chefs to reaffirm their know-how in the face of city-dwellers curious to experiment with this new approach to cooking. Compression, icing, roasting are no longer reserved for proteins and show the vegetable kingdom from an entirely new point of view. These techniques feed an entire army of new places that see the vegetable in tapas version which moves, reassuring comfort food based on generous pizzas or burgers as delicious as dietetically correct, ever more numerous and sophisticated garnishes and more and more often in the center Of the plate. Always with fairly remarkable presentations that give all these dishes strong identities. Most of all a pensum but a real pleasure and for the customers, an effective way to affirm their clairvoyance and their intelligence of life. It is indeed quite impressive to see the development of vegetarian sections within the most fashionable restaurants.

The vegetable is found at a crossroads of unique trends: it is healthy, good for the planet so socially irreproachable, it is gluten free (yes!), Economically accessible, declinable to infinity … A playground to be cleared in emergency !

Végécentric : 2016, l’année du légume ?

2016 pourrait être l’année du légume et c’est en tous cas bien parti si l’on en croit les tendanceurs américains qui citent tous cet ancien mal aimé comme la nouvelle star de l’année, en version de plus en plus cuisinée pour en exalter toutes les saveurs et les possibles…

A New York, le légume est revisité par Amanda Cohen, la célèbre chef du restaurant Dirt Candy avec ses 2 spécialités les plus connues : ses pains en pot parfumés épinard ou betterave ou sa version assez iconoclaste du tacos (sur la photo) qui consiste à garnir, plutôt qu’une galette de maïs,  de croquantes feuilles de salade verte avec outre des choux de Bruxelles braisés, une foule de préparations savoureuses et gourmandes. Joli, léger, customisable, frais, coloré… Qui dit mieux ?

Les adresses végécentric se multiplient et permettent aux chefs de réaffirmer leur savoir faire face à des citadins curieux d’expérimenter cette nouvelle approche de la cuisine. Compression, glaçage, rôtissage ne sont plus réservés aux protéines et font voir le règne végétal d’un point de vue tout à fait inédit. Ces techniques alimentent toute une armée de nouveaux lieux qui voient le légume en version tapas qui déménage, comfort food rassurante à base de pizzas généreuses ou de burgers aussi délicieux que diététiquement corrects, garnitures toujours plus nombreuses et sophistiquées et de plus en plus souvent au centre de l’assiette. Avec toujours des présentations assez remarquables qui donnent à tous ces plats des identités fortes. Plus du tout un pensum mais un vrai plaisir et pour les clients, un moyen efficace d’affirmer leur clairvoyance et leur intelligence de vie. Il est en effet assez impressionnant de voir le développement des sections végétariennes au sein des restaurants les plus à la mode.

Le légume se retrouve à un croisement de tendances unique: il est healthy, bon pour la planète donc socialement irréprochable, il est gluten free (eh oui !), accessible économiquement, déclinable à l’infini… Un terrain de jeu à défricher en urgence !